Liquorice Bar (50 Pall Mall, Off King Street)

What can only be described as a delicious hidden gem! I literally stumbled upon this place after weaving through the narrow back streets in town, trying to find my way back onto a road I recognised. It had been a long day of bar hopping for my boyfriend’s birthday and I found this place impossible to resist, one more stop before tea.

It was early evening in January. The dark of night was creeping into every corner of the street and my fingers were cold with the icy bite of the air. Straight ahead I saw the glinting candles in the windows, and the two barmen setting up for the night: the calm before the storm.

We headed inside and perched on some bar stools next to a long oblong display unit. Encased in glass was a proud display of the fine spirits and liqueurs they had to offer.

I made a beeline for the cocktail menu and knew I was onto a winner…

We all know after a while that traditional cocktails like sex on the beach and blue lagoon just don’t excite us like they used to. Nor do they make our hearts flutter in anticipation or mouths water. But here I found a tempting range of cocktails I didn’t know existed. Another bonus was the 2 for £11 offer! I made my selections and speed walked to the bar to place an order…

RASPBERRY AND PASSIONFRUIT MARTINI:

Vodka, passoa, raspberry, lemon & passionfruit syrup. Amazingly simple and lusciously sweet, this is a beautiful take on the martini. Anything that uses passoa is good in my book and this cocktail gave it a whole new lease of life for me. Fruity flavour combinations scream ‘cocktail’ and ‘holiday’ to me and this little treat in the heart of winter gave the night a burst of vitality.

JAM DAIQUIRI:

Gold rum, elderflower liqueur, strawberry, strawberry jam & a zing of lime. This may sound like another sweet toothed dream but in fact the lime juice, tart of the jam and deepness of the rum mellow the flavour to a much more mature level. I had this straight after the martini and it definitely wasn’t sugar overload. I much preferred this cocktail despite absolutely loving the first, I believe it was the discovery of something completely new. The delicious, refreshing strawberry taste left me wanting another.

Jam Daiquiri @liquoricebar
Jam Daiquiri @liquoricebar
2 for £11 @liquoricebar
2 for £11 @liquoricebar
Leave a Reply

